I miss that…but…

I miss those evenings of drinks and pub food with friends

I miss solid, uninterrupted sleep…you know, that sleep where you sleep through the night

I miss feeling like I look okay, feeling good about myself

I miss eating regular meals

 

BUT…

what I’ve exchanged in place of drinks and pub food, solid uninterrupted sleep, feeling good about myself and eating regular meals can never be given up…I’m a mom.

 

You know…that person who

-takes care of little beings that are completely helpless,

-who love you unconditionally,

-who look to you for help and guidance,

-who call just to say “hi,”

 

Those little people grow up and move away but still need mom…and for that…

I am ok with never getting to eat a regular meal…you know, one that is piping hot, right out of the oven. Where once you sit down to eat it, you don’t get up until you are finished.

I’m ok with not feeling good about how I look and accepting that I will never be in a single-digit size again.

I’m ok with not having a solid, uninterrupted night’s sleep.

I’m ok with not being able to drop everything in order to get together with friends for drinks and yummy pub food.

Being “mom” is who I am and I love every minute of it.

 

One thought on “I miss that…but…

Leave a Reply

